History of Cheever Construction

History of Cheever Construction

Clifford C Cheever started a masonry business in 1954, building a lasting impression, using skill, experience and dedication to satisfy the needs of his clients. Cheever Construction has continued for over 60 years to build relationships in all aspects of the industry.  We are proud to use the founding principles of honesty, integrity, fairness and commitment to describe how we have arrived to where we are today.

  • 1954

    Clifford C. Cheever founded Cheever Construction Co. Inc.; union masonry sub-contracting company.

  • 1973

    Incorporated as CCC Construction Company; worked as a non-union sub-contracting firm through 1975.

  • 1975-1982

    Became a general contracting firm constructing apartment buildings in an office out of the back of “Cheever’s Bottle Shop” at 70th & Vine.

  • 1980

    Moved into an office on L Street and started building for others.

  • 1982

    Became more aggressive in the competitive bid market and began to undertake a wider variety of jobs.

  • 1984

    Built Willow Creek Apartments in Lincoln.

  • 1984

    First LPS work on West Lincoln Elementary School (kindergarten and gym addition).

  • 1984

    Built the Village Inn on Van Dorn.

  • 1985

    Built Holmes Lake Plaza at 70th & Van Dorn.

  • 1985

    First project for doctors Greg & Margret Sutton.

  • 1986

    Built Van Dorn Villa at 51st & Van Dorn.

  • 1989

    CCC Construction Company began constructing schools, office buildings and elderly condominiums.

  • 1992

    Moved to 912 S 26th Office.

  • 1997

    To insure the continuation of the Cheever name in years to come, our company name was officially changed to Cheever Construction.Company

  • 2007

    The ESOP accomplished a full purchase of all stock from Clifford and became 100% employee owned.

  • 2007

    Adams Elementary was the first Construction Manager at Risk project.

  • 2013

    Moved to 3425 N 44th Office.